Single Guy Does Music Mondays: ‘Sweet Virginia Breeze’ by The Robbin Thompson Band

Greetings from Virginia

Headed to Virginia this week for a work trip. Haven’t been on the road in like, a month and a half so it’ll be good to get some miles in again, and I’ve never been to Virginia. Don’t know much about it other than it’s part of the setting for one of my all-time favorite video games ever, Fallout 3. Don’t think I’ll be seeing any nuclear shelters and super mutants during my trip though. But maybe I’ll bring a couple bottle caps with me just in case. Ah, I just realized no one is going to understand any of that unless they played. Hahah. Oops.

Fallout Power Armor.gif

Anyways, this week’s posts will highlight some of the restaurants I’ll be trying while I’m down there. And to get me in a particularly ‘Virginia’-y kind of mood, this week’s Music Monday selection is the official ‘popular state song’ of Virginia, as voted in 2015. ‘Sweet Virginia Breeze’ by the Robbin Thompson Band. I’m off to hit the road and document some more food travels! Oh, and work. Enjoy this sweet, and not at all cacophonous, ballad to the state of Virginia.

Sweet Virginia Breeze

-by The Robbin Thompson Band

Woke up this morning- the breeze blowin’ cross my face

And I just had to look up above and thank Somebody for this place
Because He must’ve been thinkin’ bout me
When He planted that very first dogwood tree
It’s where I want to be
Livin’ in the Sweet Virginia Breeze

Take me out to the country- it feels mighty good out there
When I get back to the city of the monuments
It doesn’t matter where I hang my hat it’s home to me
The Blue Ridge Mountains tend to set me free
It’s where I want to be
Livin’ in the Sweet Virginia Breeze

Wakes me up in the mornin’
Rocks me to sleep at night
I’ve got a red bird singin’ on my window sill
I know everything will be all right
Livin’ in the Sweet Virginia Breeze

Just sittin on my back porch
I’m just watchin’ the sun come up
Sweet sweet Virginia Breeze blowin’ ripples ‘cross my coffee cup
Because He must’ve been thinkin’ bout me when He planted that very first dogwood tree
cause when that breeze comes blowin’ through the trees
you know everything will be alright
Livin’ in a Sweet Virginia Breeze
Sweet Virginia Breeze

5 thoughts on “Single Guy Does Music Mondays: ‘Sweet Virginia Breeze’ by The Robbin Thompson Band

Leave a Reply

