Single Guy Does Music Mondays

I’ve seen something similar to this on another blog I follow, only he does it on Wednesdays. I’ve gotten some great music recommendations from that though and added some really interesting and great bands to my Spotify collection so I’m hoping to be able to do the same here and share with and educate the world on some of my favorite music picks on a new regular feature, Music Mondays.

Kurt and Brandon

My first pick is quite timely and relevant I would think, considering the events of the past week, but this was completely by chance. I regularly listen to WBGO Jazz 88.3, and on Sunday I heard Kurt Elling’s rendition of Practical Arrangement. The song first appeared on the album The Last Ship by Sting, which was a tie-in for a play by the same name by Sting as well. I love Sting’s performance but Kurt Elling is an incredibly talented vocalist who adds so much emotion and affection into the lyrics, and Brandon Marsalis is such a fantastic saxophonist and he adds a harmony and melody that was missing in Sting’s piece, which sounded more like spoken word. It’s a bit melancholy, but also I think very beautiful and romantic and endearingly tragic. I hope you really listen to the lyrics, and also enjoy the incredible accompaniment by the talented Brandon Marsalis.

Practical Arrangement
-Lyrics and composition by Sting
Am I asking for the moon’
Is it really so implausible’
That you and I could soon
Come to some kind of arrangement’
I’m not asking for the moon
I’ve always been a realist
When it’s really nothing more
Than a simple rearrangement
With one roof above our heads
A warm house to return to
We could start with separate beds
I could sleep alone or learn to
I’m not suggesting that we’d find
Some earthly paradise forever
I mean how often does that happen now
The answer’s probably never
But we could come to an arrangement
A practical arrangement
And you could learn to love me
Given time
I’m not promising the moon
I’m not promising a rainbow
Just a practical solution
To a solitary life
I’d be a father to your boy
A shoulder you could lean on
How bad could it be
To be my wife’
With one roof above our heads
A warm house to return to
You wouldn’t have to cook for me
You wouldn’t have to learn to
I’m not suggesting that this proposition here
Could last forever
I’ve no intention of deceiving you
You’re far too clever
But we could come to an arrangement
A practical arrangement
And perhaps you’d learn to love me
Given time
It may not be the romance
That you had in mind
But you could learn to love me
Given time
5 thoughts on “Single Guy Does Music Mondays

  1. Pingback: Photographer Interview – Cendrine Marrouat – “When the Mind Travels: A Poetic Journey into Photography”, “Life’s Little Things. Les petites choses de la vie” & “Life’s Little Things: The Quotes” | to

Leave a Reply

